Another Day

Here it is Thursday already. The week is flying by fast for me this week. Since Sunday I have made it to 5 meetings when you add them all up. One girl got her certificate this week and everyone was proud of her for earning that. I got my 30 day medal/chip thing Wednesday night during the AA meeting for not drinking one drop for a whole 30 days. I’ve been in recovery now for over 6 years now but my recent go around with AA and NA have only been with me for 6 or so weeks now. I’ve been to AA before and am familiar with it. I’m not necessarily in that much need of it but I do like the people there and I’m going to continue on going even after my program ends. Who knows, I might end up helping someone and that’s a good enough reason to stick around.

Somebody from AA will read that and say I’m one of those “in denial” people lol. I’ve done a pretty damn good job at staying sober all on my own for over six years now. I wouldn’t knock the program though because it does work for a lot of people. A lot of people chose to keep it a regular part of their life for the rest of their life. And that’s absolutely fantastic. Whatever it takes to keep a person sober is what they should be doing. Addiction is a motherfucker and it will bitch slap you all over the place if you let it. And when you’re in your addiction you WILL let it slap you around.

I’m still reading my AA Big Book every day. I try to get a chapter a day read with that book. Of course I read a lot every day. I’ve got a lot of irons in the fire with book. Its not uncommon for me to be reading 2 or 3 books at the same time plus articles and essays on the internet. Not to mention some of the e-books I have collected over the years. I could make a small library jealous of my book collection. Its nearly a fire hazard in itself, except books don’t burn real easily, thankfully. And I do have a couple books that have been on fire before. Luckily they’re in good shape and readable still.

That’s about all I got for now. Gotta let the dog out so she can make her rounds before hitting the recliner for the night.

Take care …. and tell someone you love ’em today.

Leave a comment